Cardboard Wars

War is the continuation of politics by other means

TDDH: Dec II 1941 (Japanese) Addendum


As I said in the last post, I am constantly perusing the rules, especially after I make a post, to make sure things have been done correctly. I found two things I had did incorrectly, so let me expound on that just a little.

Each transport counter can move ½ RE of cargo as long as it flies within its printed range, in this case 55 hexes. If it flies at extended range, it can fly 1.5 times its printed range (as opposed to twice the printed range in standard Europa), again in this case, 82 hexes. But the cargo capacity is cut in half. It could carry paratroopers to that island and drop them, but only if they were a small battalion [symbol (II)].

They have been removed from the map and are having a new operation planned for them.

The second mistake that I caught was that the G4M-11 that was withdrawn, I mistakenly grabbed again and included it in the air raid on Manila, where it cratered the airfield and destroyed the PBY. I removed the hit and put the PBY back into Manila. The Sally was sent back to the southwest where it belongs.

A couple of items I forgot to include:

I did not make reaction rolls for the Marine/Filipino troops at Cavite, a 1-4 marine battalion and a 2-3-6 Filipino regiment. Neither are supported, so they would be unable to oppose the landings only two hexes from them, so even if they had successfully reacted to the invasion, it’s unlikely I would have moved them. In the end, it amounts to 1.5 attack factors against 16 defense factors? 8 DF? Assuming that BOTH made their reaction rolls. I think is it best to wait for the 12-8 Philippines division to roust itself from Manila. Also, all troops making amphibious landings were not disrupted, and no damage occurred to the landing craft.

Japanese exploitation; Luzon & Mindoro, Dec II 41 (click image to enlarge)

Japanese exploitation; Luzon & Mindoro, Dec II 41 (click image to enlarge)

I also discovered in my post turn perusal of the rules that exploitation movement is not limited to combat/motorized units.

Combat/motorized units have an exploitation movement allowance of ½ its movement rate, 5 MP in many cases. Any unit with a movement rate of 8 gets an allowance of 2 MPs. Thus the 12-8 Philippines infantry division can move in the exploitation phase. Any Japanese light infantry unit that has a movement rate of 6 gets a movement allowance of 2 MPs. Any unit with a movement rate of 6 (excluding Japanese light infantry) gets a movement allowance of 1.

What this does is that it allows the two light mountain regiments to move out of Botangas and towards Manila/Cavite, capturing 2 airstrips in the process, while the 4-6-6 light infantry regiment that is offloading on the beach will protect Botangas. The two regiments on the move head north to the outskirts of Cavite. As shown in the photo, the 12-8 Philippine division (12th) is in Manila.

The SNLF battalion on Mindoro moves 1 hex south on the road towards the last airstrip on the island.

It also seems to me that while the reserve troops are being unloaded on Mindanao, the SNLF troops can be reloaded on their transports (at the cost of 6 MPs), and returned to Palau. Have to go all the way back to be resupplied and refueled. The same goes for any other SNLF troops that were landed.

The transports that unload the reserves on Mindanao have enough movement to do that and make it back to Palau, so transports spending 6 MPs to reload a regiment to take home can make it as well.

But the troops are already on the island. Why not just leave them there?

The SNLF troops are a vital asset because they are amphibiously trained, and are only halved when making amphibious assaults. With proper planning, they can be used on the next turn to capture another port, like maybe Davao on Mindanao. Mindanao, in my estimation, has to be overrun as quickly as possible in order to turn assets towards Luzon.

It depends on how many MPs it costs to reload the landing craft. I am assuming that the movement point costs to embark/disembark cargo is per transport rather than per RE. By this I mean, loading an LC and a regiment (2 Res total) at a port costs 2 MP, not 4 MP, therefore, LCs and a regiment could be loaded onto a transport for a total of 6 MP at a beach (the cost to embark/disembark cargo).

Something I will have to keep in mind for the next Japanese turn.

Advertisements

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: