Cardboard Wars

War is the continuation of politics by other means

The Narvik II Hard Drive Crash


This is the time of the week when I get a few days off from work and I can happily play my game and write about it. After I got home from work last night, I used my laptop to write some emails and do some stuff before I went to bed.

When I got up today and turned my laptop on discovered that the hard drive crashed. And so did Narvik right along with it. I was playing it exclusively on my laptop.

So the files are gone. The saved games were not important enough to back up.

I have spent the entire afternoon installing a new hard drive and operating system and drivers.

So, Narvik II is gone. I’m not sure that I want to restart it yet again. I think that in the end, the Germans would still have lost, because the biggest hole in the plan was that it gives the Allies in the arctic way too much time to set up a defense of Narvik. The Germans would be able to fight their way through, but probably not by the end of the game.

I may return to it again at some point in the future. I really like this game.

Now I just need to figure out what game I want to play next. Because of an energetic discussion about Operation Sea Lion, I have been sorting the counters from Their Finest Hour to see if any are missing. I know the rules are old, and the naval system is completely different from current Europa rules. But I think it would be fun to make the attempt, as the Germans, to get on that damned island.

All I need next is an opponent. This is one that I definitely do not want to play solo. I have a couple of feelers out, and am waiting to hear back. We’ll see what happens.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

