Cardboard Wars

War is the continuation of politics by other means

Where Have I Been?


It’s been awhile since I posted an update. Lee had started his turn, but I had to temporarily suspend the game for a bit. I hope to get back to it this weekend and pick up from there.

One of my dogs got sick with terminal liver cancer. My wife and I spent the last week of his life taking him to the vet for tests, then once cancer was confirmed, we put him down. I have been spending the last week working through the grieving process.

I’m sure no one wants to hear about my dog, though.

I don’t know how much longer I will be able to do this. I’ve had a lot of fun with it, and lost a lot of games. I’ve learned much from this experience.

The reason I may not be able to continue after this game has been completed is because of my other dog. Because she is an escape artist, we had to keep both of our dogs in the basement while we were at work. The two were able to keep each other company, and Kiri out of trouble.

Now that Sam has passed, she is in the basement by herself, and she is bored and lonely. Her escape artist ability allowed her to discover a way into my gaming area, where the Battle of Stalingrad was still set up. Let’s just say that she won.

Counters have been scattered to the four winds. Every time I thought that I had picked up the last of them, I found more. I’m sure there are several other counters I haven’t found yet (and may never find).

While I know I had lost a few counters over the years, who knows how many I have lost now. Who knows how many she may have eaten. It’s sad because this game is irreplaceable.

I thought I had the area blocked off, but I was obviously wrong about that.

It is our intention to try to find another dog to help keep Kiri under control and keep her company. Then I have to figure out whether or not she can get into that area. Until then, there will be no more games as I’ve lost my area (garage is too hot/cold and is the workshop).

I hope to have a new turn posted the weekend after this next. I think I may have finally made the fatal mistake that dooms the Soviet effort, but we’ll see.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Where Have I Been?

  1. Stephen on said:

    Ah Tony, “dogged” by trouble! Sorry to hear of your loss, but I have followed all of your AARs with interest. As it seems abundantly clear that Total War will never see the light of day (although I have the maps and the counters!!) and I don’t have FITE/SE, I don’t expect ever to be able to play this myself. Keep up the good work when you are able. All the best, Stephen

    Like

Leave a Reply

